Yahoo Search Busca da Web

Resultado da Busca

  1. Greatest Hits (Take That album) Greatest Hits is the first greatest hits compilation album released by English boy band Take That . Background. Following the departure of Robbie Williams, Take That started touring as a four-piece until the announcement of their split on 13 February 1996.

    • 71:46
    • 25 March 1996
    • 1990–1995
    • Pop
    • Hold Up A Light
    • Once You’Ve Tasted Love
    • Love Love
    • Wooden Boat
    • Pretty Things
    • Giants
    • When We Were Young
    • A Million Love Songs
    • Sure
    • The Flood

    An overlooked single from The Circus, Hold Up a Light transcends its slightly hokey desire to provoke live audiences to, well, hold up a light, thanks to Mark Owen’s slightly doleful vocal, a lovely string arrangement and an unexpected burst of Queen-y double-tracked guitar.

    Understandably overshadowed by their later hits – including the disco cover versions It Only Takes a Minute, Could It Be Magic and Relight My Fire, not included in this list of original compositions – Take That’s second single is both a great little song and a charming period-piece snapshot of early 90s British pop. The bleeping analogue synths and...

    Take That were never weirder than on Progressed, the EP of offcuts appended to their 2010 album Progress. The Stuart Price-produced Love Love is appealingly off the wall – squelching synthesisers, a bizarrely stentorian Gary Barlow vocal, an octave leaping chorus. It’s clearly not what most Take That fans buy their records expecting to hear, which ...

    With the best will in the world, Take That are no one’s idea of a great albums band, but, just occasionally, something worth salvaging slips into the bits between the hits. So it is with the beautiful, acoustic Wooden Boat, which sounds oddly like the Lilac Time, the folk-rock band fronted by Robbie Williams’s solo collaborator Stephen Duffy.

    Progress – which saw Robbie Williams temporarily return to the fold – is, by some distance, Take That’s best album: surprisingly experimental, devoid of their trademark big ballads. Pretty Things is a low-key highlight: subtle electropop, over which Williams self-deprecatingly ruminates on ageing, marriage and the loss of youthful charm.

    Since the departure of Jason Orange and Williams, Take That’s releases have tended towards the serviceable rather than the spectacular, an excuse to tour rather than an end in themselves. That said, they are sometimes better than you might expect, as demonstrated by Giants, a slice of super-hooky, thoroughly modern arena-ready pop.

    The re-formed Take That were never afraid to tug at their long-term fans’ heartstrings by writing about the band’s tumultuous past. Which brings us to the prosaically titled When We Were Young, an affecting giant-chorused song with a distinctly Abba-esque melody. “We were the foolish, fearless … We didn’t know it wouldn’t last.”

    The first sign that Barlow had ambitions beyond fleeting pop fame, A Million Love Songs was written when he was 15. It’s audibly influenced by Elton John – the Elton of the mid-80s, rather than the 70s – but tricked out with Mellow Magic sax and vaguely doo-wop-ish backing vocals.

    One of those No 1s people seem to have forgotten was a No 1 – and swiftly overshadowed by its follow-up, Back For Good – Sure was Take That’s last single in pop-R&B mode. It’s a sweet example of type, although Q magazine’s 2003 suggestion that it was the second greatest pop single ever made is pushing it a bit.

    Williams’s return to Take That was announced in pitch-perfect style with portentous verses, singalong chorus and lyrics that commented on the improbability of their reunion – “They said we’d never dance again”. There was also a hint of promo for the forthcoming tour stirred in: “We will meet you where the lights are.”

    • 4 min
    • Alexis Petridis
  2. Take That are an English pop group formed in Manchester in 1990. The group currently consists of Gary Barlow, Howard Donald and Mark Owen. The original line-...

    • 5 min
    • 17,2K
    • ExplorHits
  3. Greatest Hits é o álbum de greatest hits lançado pela boyband britânica Take That e já vendeu 5 milhões de cópias até à data em todo o mundo.

    • 71:46
    • Pop
    • 1990–1996
    • 4 de março de 1996, (veja histórico)
  4. Take That. Released just a month after they split, and a decade before their reunion, 1996's Greatest Hits compiles all 16 of Take That's singles alongside a faithful cover of the Bee Gees' “How Deep Is Your Love.”. Featuring eight U.K. No. 1s, it's a compendium of the early ’90s, touching on everything from radio-friendly house (their ...

  5. Listen to Take That Greatest Hits on Spotify. Take That · Compilation · 1996 · 18 songs.

  6. 23 de nov. de 2018 · GREATEST HITS. Greatest Hits is the first greatest hits compilation album released by British boyband Take That and has sold 5 million copies to date worldwide. Following the band’s announcement that they were to split on February 13, 1996, the greatest hits compilation was released through RCA Records on March 4, 1996, and ...